Wednesday, 13 December 2017

Sunday, 10 December 2017


The former Kingston railway station, long abandoned. I can actually remember my father arriving by train at this station, but it was closed in 1974. For a while it tried to be a restaurant called the Pig and Whistle, but it didn't last long.




Thursday, 7 December 2017


Found behind the Princess St McDonald's:



In an alley through a block north of Princess St:




Wednesday, 6 December 2017


Some churches look more welcoming than others! I don't think they're a good idea on principle, but that doesn't mean they aren't interesting buildings. This one's at Princess and Bath:




Sunday, 3 December 2017


I discovered the former First Avenue Public School just the other day, while poking around a neighbourhood I'd never been in before. Recognizably typical for this kind of public building around here. Apparently it has been purchased by the city.








Saturday, 2 December 2017

Wednesday, 29 November 2017


130 Wright Crescent, an apartment building up beside the Kingston Centre and the YMCA:








Tuesday, 28 November 2017


Red and green fall colours, which no reasonable snapper can resist! This evening's gales are stripping the last remnants of these from their branches. Corner of Sunny Acres and Keyes.



Monday, 27 November 2017


The former railyard at what used to be the Kingston railway station:





Saturday, 25 November 2017


Red doors around the intersection of Raglan and Division streets.


Thursday, 23 November 2017


There's always an interesting building on the next street when you're poking around Kingston, especially north of Princess St. Sometimes, even just off Queen St:


Tuesday, 21 November 2017


The stand of old willows at the east end of Belle Island golf course. Underfoot, on the path out to the island proper:


Sunday, 19 November 2017


New Brunswick holiday: the first showers of our week blowing onshore over Murray Corner.





Thursday, 16 November 2017


New Brunswick Holiday: the reddish sandstone that seems to be the bedrock in that part of the country.




Monday, 13 November 2017


New Brunswick Holiday: two pictures of the sandstone rock that seems so common in the area.




Friday, 10 November 2017


The Belle Island Golf Course is an odd place, because although it hasn't been maintained since the it was closed the course itself is surprisingly durable; you could play a game there without too much difficulty. At any rate, without any players it's nice walking, especially among these huge old willows.




Thursday, 9 November 2017

Sunday, 5 November 2017


New Brunswick holiday: two sheds, one about a kilometer west of Murray Corner, as a squall blew over, and the other just beside the excellent Campbell Carriage Factory.




Tuesday, 31 October 2017

Monday, 30 October 2017


Calm blue skies above Centre 70 and a warm afternoon at Belle Island, now that fall is here with its blustery grayness we'll just have to remember these kinds of days.





Sunday, 22 October 2017


New Brunswick holiday: every tide reveals scores of dead crabs scattered over the sand.