Monday, 19 December 2016


If I'd had a compass on me I would have held it against these electric cables to see the current flowing along them, for these four cables bring all the electrical power generated by the Wolfe Island wind turbines onshore. But I didn't even have a phone on me, so I just imagined a steady, thick flow of electrons at my feet.




Wind energy is solar energy once removed, these collectors are last years models:


Sunday, 18 December 2016


A walk around the Delta Waterfront Hotel at the bottom of Johnson Street. Widely regarded as a completely unsuccessful waterfront reclamation, but now we're all used to it I confess to a certain affection for its ugliness. At least the nearby reclamation of Block D showed how it could be done. I always like this walk; in summer abuzz with boats and tourists, in winter quite deserted and peaceful.










Tuesday, 6 December 2016

Monday, 28 November 2016


I remember reading that people are physiologically built to see patterns wherever they look. For me the sometimes sudden apprehension of a pattern, visual or otherwise, is very exciting. Patterns and rhythms are the way into the pictures that I make. Here, two ovals.







Wednesday, 23 November 2016


Looking out the window on a rainy fall afternoon,...


...suddenly thinking about this road.



Wednesday, 16 November 2016


If this was your home (and it's someone's here in town) then this would be in your front yard:


Tuesday, 15 November 2016

After the time change afternoon sunlight seems to be in shorter supply. Leaves like this are scarce now too!



But the dried Goldenrods are quite durable:


Sunday, 13 November 2016



If order is empty, then chaos must be full. Does chaos grow out of order, or order out of chaos?



Friday, 4 November 2016


So much of the "green space" in and around the city is managed to stay neat and tidy, but even in smaller copses and corners chaos is trying to take over:


Above, ivy at the end of Keys Rd, below, a viaduct in Polson Park:


Monday, 31 October 2016


I felt like this for what now seems a very long time. A lot of wasted years. But...



...I'm feeling a lot taller now!


Thursday, 27 October 2016


Suddenly, leaves everywhere on the ground. This year's colours all too brief!


Sunday, 23 October 2016


When I was a truck driver we called these "Jersey Barriers", but I don't know what the proper name for them is.



I don't know what kind of grasses these are; but they like damp areas. This bunch is at the west end of Sand Bay:


Saturday, 22 October 2016


City Park, early Tuesday morning, dropping off my son for cross-country running club.  First movement of the crowds onto the university campus and to the hospital:



And then later that day. Max is getting to really like the K & P trail- not hard to see why. It's hard to complain about a job when you get to do something like this during it!



Thursday, 20 October 2016


I can't help but photograph scenes like this one. They just jump out at me as I'm walking by, if I'm in a receptive frame of mind. Unfortunately, stopping and looking at something like this usually causes the dogs to jump into the middle of it. It means something completely different to them.



Thursday, 13 October 2016


Polson Park, loosely watching my sons skateboard, this small tree right beside the skateboard pad...


...and later, these on the bluff at Paterson Park.


Wednesday, 12 October 2016


Green is having its last hurrah, after the dry heat of summer gave way to cool rains. Ground ivy, vacant lot on Midland Avenue:



Ivy growing on a bush at Paterson Park:


Thursday, 6 October 2016

Wednesday, 5 October 2016

Monday, 3 October 2016

Monday, 26 September 2016

Wednesday, 21 September 2016


At the shoreline again, this time at Everett Park:




...and at Sheffield Lake.



Monday, 19 September 2016


A quick half-hour while our sons are having music lessons at Long and McQuade on Midland Avenue; I found this empty house and its yard.





Sunday, 18 September 2016


Last of the hard, hot, low summer sun on the lake in the afternoon. A humid wind with the smell of the lake.